Lake Toba, Medan – Taman Simalem Resort

I was feeling adventurous and wanted to go to a more natural and undiscovered place. Lake Toba (Danau Toba), on the island of Sumatra in Indonesia, is the largest volcanic lake in the world. A very stunning travel location that is only 2 hours plane ride from Singapore. There are so many scenic spots in Lake Toba so I was pretty excited for this trip.

Check out my post on Samosir Island in Lake Toba

Tip: Rent a Chartered Car for your trip. (Best value for travel in groups of 4) As Lake Toba is a less explored place, there is literally no public transport. My driver fetched us from Medan Airport and brought us around for our 3d2n at Lake Toba.

Taman Simalem Resort

One of the best spot for a stunning view of Lake Toba. “Pearl of Lake Toba” or Taman Simalem Resort is a mountain resort at Laka Toba, Medan. One of the best things to do in Medan.

Had my morning coffee

Before I begin my photo spamming session

One Tree Hill

THE BEST SPOT FOR A SUNSET VIEW OF LAKE TOBA! I woke up at 5am for a sunset view at this spot, and absolutely WORTH IT. Probably one of the best perks of staying in this resort is that you get access to this spot located right inside Taman Simalem Resort. There is also a boat docked at the viewpoint for Insta-worthy pics!

Tip: Bring a jacket along cause it was really cold in the morning. I was literally freezing while waiting for the sunset

The sunrise sky is prefect for insta shots

The view was really calming and beautiful. It was a really once in a lifetime experience.

Air Terjun Sipiso-piso (Waterfall)

The tallest plunge waterfall in Indonesia at 120 metre, Sipiso-piso is definitely a sight not to miss. The waterfall resembled the form a knife (thus sipiso-piso in the native language). It is right on the way to the Taman Simalem Resort.

Continue my exploration of Lake Toba in Samosir Island

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑